Here’s everything you need to know about lentils if you follow a gluten free diet
Gluten is a type of protein found in certain grains including wheat, rye, and barley. It acts as a binder, holding food together and giving it a stretchy quality.
Gluten is often added to foods as a thickening agent or to provide texture and flavor, making it a ‘hidden ingredient’ in some foods you wouldn’t expect.
Lentils are a legume and not a grain, making them naturally gluten-free, which is great news for lentil-lovers who follow a gluten-free diet.
Lentils are a legume and not a grain, making them naturally gluten-free. However, cross-contamination can occur due to farming practices, growth, harvest, and storage.
Lentils may come into contact with gluten-containing grains such as wheat, barley, or rye during processing, packaging, transportation, and even in food preparation.
Opt for lentils that are certified gluten-free to ensure they have been processed in a facility that follows strict guidelines to prevent cross-contamination.
Read the package label: Check the packaging for a gluten-free label and read the ingredients list to ensure the lentils you consume are not at risk for gluten contamination.
By reading the food labels, selecting products that are gluten free, and taking precautions during food preparation, you can enjoy lentils.
Click her e to read the full article